TWO-PIECE ROCK GROUP LOCAL H COMMEMORATE 20TH ANNIVERSARY OF “HERE COMES THE ZOO” WITH EXTENSIVE NORTH AMERICAN TOUR

For all the many rock groups that formed around the 1990’s, only a handful still remain in some capacity. Whether it’s grunge, alternative, hard rock or something else altogether, it’s hard to deny that many bands in the wake of Nirvana simply withered away when the momentum couldn’t keep up. Local H, however, are definitively not one of those groups — as proven by their upcoming tour between September 11 and December 13 to celebrate their fourth studio album, Here Comes the Zoo.

Originally formed in 1990, Local H have released an impressive nine studio albums, several EPs and a plethora of other stand-alone works — even releasing a new album right before the pandemic in 2020, LIFERS. Yet it is 2002’s Here Comes the Zoo, their first album not released via Island Records, that the band has chosen to commemorate in their upcoming, highly extensive tour across North America — with dates covering the entirety of the United States and much of Canada. While it is not their biggest or most commercially-successful album, as lead singer, guitarist and founding member Scott Lucas says:

“In a lot of ways, this was the toughest record we ever had to make. We were at a real turning and it wasn’t just a record that would determine the future of the band — it was the record that would determine whether or not Local H was going to even have a future. We had just worked with Roy Thomas Baker on PACK UP THE CATS — so getting another producing legend was not in the plan. Then we found out Jack Douglas was interested. So what could we do? He’s the man. We had no choice but to go with him.”

Considering the changes that have taken place in Local H’s lineup over the years — a rapid alteration from a four-piece to a two piece group before their first studio album even released — it’s all the more astounding that Local H have not only stayed close to their post-grunge roots, but have also kept going for three-plus decades. Sounding stronger than ever with Lucas’ guitar and vocal work alongside drummer Ryan Harding’s beats, it’s definitely worth checking out this rock staple live.

You can buy tickets to Local H’s Here Comes the Zoo 20th Anniversary Tour here — a full list of locations and dates is below!

Sun, Sept 11 – Slowdown – Omaha, NE
Tue, Sept 13 – Globe Hall – Denver, CO
Thu, Sept 15 – The Urban Lounge – Salt Lake City, UT
Fri, Sept 16 – Knitting Factory Concert House – Boise, ID
Sun, Sept 18 – Doug Fir Lounge – Portland, OR
Mon, Sept 19 – Barboza – Seattle, WA
Thu, Sept 22 – Cornerstone Craft Beer & Live Music – Berkeley, CA
Fri, Sept 23 – Felton Music Hall – Felton, CA
Sat, Sept 24 – The Venice West – Venice, WA
Sun, Sept 25 – Valley Bar – Phoenix, AZ
Tue, Sept 27 – Empire Control Room & Garage – Austin, TX
Wed, Sept 28 – The HiFi Dallas – Dallas, TX
Thu, Sept 29 – Growlers – Memphis, TN
Mon, Oct 17 – Hi-Fi – Indianapolis, IN
Tue, Oct 18 – Top Cats – Cincinnati, OH
Thu, Oct 20 – House of Blues Cleveland – Cleveland, OH
Fri, Oct 21 – Metro Chicago – Chicago, IL
Mon, Oct 24 – The Basement – Columbus, OH
Wed, Oct 26 – Piere’s – Fort Wayne, IN
Thu, Oct 27 – Woolys – Des Moines, IA
Sat, Oct 29 – Red Flag – St. Louis, MO
Sun, Oct 30 – Gabe’s – Iowa City, IA
Mon, Oct 31 – Turf Club – St. Paul, MN
Wed, Nov 2 – Lyric Room – Green Bay, WI
Fri, Nov 4 – The Cavalier Theater – La Crosse, WI
Sat, Nov 26 – The Masquerade – Atlanta, GA
Sun, Nov 27 – Hop Springs – Murfreesboro, TN
Mon, Nov 28 – Radio Room – Greenville, SC
Thu, Dec 1 – Canal Club – Richmond, VA
Sat, Dec 3 – Phantom Power – Millersville, PA
Sun, Dec 4 – Union Stage – Washington, DC
Mon, Dec 5 – Bowery Ballroom – New York, NY
Tue, Dec 6 – Middle East – Cambridge, MA
Thu, Dec 8 – Warehouse on Watts – Philadelphia, PA
Fri, Dec 9 – Space Ballroom – Hamden, CT
Mon, Dec 12 – Le Belmont – Montreal, QC
Tue, Dec 13 – Adelaide Hall – Toronto, ON

Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.
×
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.