Royal & the Serpent Drops New Single, “I’M FINE,” and Music Video

The audacious rockstar Royal & the Serpent unleashed the highly anticipated single “IM FINE” on Friday along with the music video. “I’M FINE” is the first track of her awaiting 5-track project, “Happiness Is An Inside Job,” which is expected to drop on Oct. 28.

In the track, The RIAA Gold-certified star tackles mental health, specifically the habit of pretending to be okay, using the familiar phrase, “IM FINE.” But she doesn’t touch on the subject lightly. R.A.T.S uses cut-throat lyrics to convey the underlying message of “I’M FINE.”

The first verse can’t be any more impactful than they already are: “I feel like hell, but I’m still alive, got a heartbeat, but I’m dead inside/I look in the mirror, and I don’t know her, run the bath and drop a toaster.”

The pre-chorus addresses the need to seek help; however, most feel it’s easier and “better” to cloak the detrimental thoughts with “I’M FINE.”

‘IM FINE’ is the first chapter of the final EP of the series I’ve been building since 2020. We’ve been on a journey of self-discovery, mental health, love and loss, and are now searching for happiness. ‘IM FINE’ is about faking it till you make it – forcing a smile on even when everything inside you is screaming. Maybe it’s not the best method, but sometimes it’s ALL WE’VE GOT!”

Royal & the Serpent

The music video portrays the opposite of what “keeping it together” would look like. The singer-songwriter is dressed in raggedy attire with messed-up eye makeup while carrying this psychotic smiley look in the video—practically insane. It perfectly correlates to what she’s singing about.

The video is a physical representation of what’s running through her mind despite trying to convince others and herself that she’s okay. The smile she wears in the video seems okay, yet her clothes, makeup, and physical actions (ripping the stuffing out of the doll) show the opposite. Another thing to note is the child bedroom she’s in, which could represent childhood trauma or child-like tantrums.

At the end of the video, she sits in a chair, surrounded by lab equipment, and someone hands her what appears to be a headset.

“I’M FINE” is the first chapter of the R.A.T.S’s “Happiness Is An Inside Job” EP series. She will be releasing more new music every Friday in October.

On top of the upcoming EP, R.A.T.S is joining pop star Demi Lovato on her “Holy Fvck Tour,” beginning Sept. 28. Check out R.A.T.S’s tour dates below and listen to “IM FINE” on your preferred music streaming platform.



22- Louisville, KY – Louder Than Life Festival 2022 *
28 – Inglewood, CA – YouTube Theater
30 – Las Vegas, NV – Venetian Theatre at the Venetian Las Vegas 


3 – Denver, CO – Fillmore Auditorium
5 – Rosemont, IL – Rosemont Theater
6 – Sacramento, CA – Monster Energy Aftershock 2022 *
7 – Detroit, MI – Fox Theatre Detroit
9 – Wallingford, CT – Toyota Oakdale Theatre
10 – Washington, DC – The Anthem
12 – Philadelphia, PA – The Met Philadelphia
13 – Boston, MA – MGM Music Hall at Fenway
15 – Toronto, ON – History
16 – Montreal, QC – L’Olympia
18 – New York, NY – Beacon Theatre
22, 23 & 29 – Las Vegas, NV – When We Were Young


Taylor Berry Author
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.
Taylor Berry Author
Sorry! The Author has not filled his profile.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.